Who is my guide?

Leave a comment

August 15, 2014 by Kara Nichols

Everclear lyrics have been ringing in my ears today:”I take your word like it was gospel, I’m so eager to please…” and the timing is funny because I find myself evaluating whose words I take as gospel.

Just the other day someone I deeply admire and try to emulate said something I did not think was very awesome. Why it undid me for a moment is that I had this person on a super tall pedestal, taking their opinions to heart in an unhealthy way.

It’s possible I checked in with this person before I checked in with God. And it’s not just this one relationship. Athletes, politicians, authors, musicians, the girl at the cash register, a pastor, a friend, or a family member, maybe even a Kardiashian. It can happen with anyone, really. And that’s what Satan wants: for me to make mini-gods out of the ones I love or admire, tearing my focus away from the One who loves me unconditionally and is wise beyond any human. Satan would rather me emulate a person instead of going to the source of Life with our questions or desires.

We are all imperfect people with a perfect God. I pray that I only take HIS word like it was gospel, because it is truly THE gospel. Amen.

It is better to trust in the LORD than to put confidence in man. Psalm 118:8

Leave a Reply

August 2014
S M T W T F S
« Jul    
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

