Leave a comment

August 5, 2014 by Kara Nichols

I don’t exactly have a green thumb but I do keep some houseplants and plan to have a small raised garden next year. After watering my plants the other day I began pruning them. I’ve never made a big deal about getting rid of the undesired leaves and stems. Usually I just let them hang around until they fall off and become a sort of mulch. But when I purposefully combed through the plants to pull away the dead I thought about how God has been pruning me. I was an unsavory character for many years, purposefully avoiding and defying God. When I returned like the prodigal son there was much rejoicing, but I’ve found that the pruning process is still taking place. Like the master gardener that He is, God is pulling away the dead parts of my heart so that new life can grow. Sometimes it hurts but knowing there is purpose behind the pruning makes it worthwhile. He is creating a new heart in me and renewing my spirit. 

In John 15:5 Jesus says: “I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

August 2014
S M T W T F S
« Jul    
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

