Be the flag

3

July 28, 2014 by Kara Nichols

Lately it seems like I always have the tv on in the background or music playing or I’m on my cell phone or I’m pinning on Pinterest. Basically in a constant state of distraction and maybe slightly unnerved by silence, I mean, I even sleep with a fan on! So a few evenings ago I forced myself to sit on the porch without my phone or anyone around to interrupt, hoping to quiet my mind and hear from God.

At first I thought about all of the writing I needed to do. I also made a mental grocery list. And I reminded myself I had to take out the trash and water the plants. I wiggled uncomfortably. It was so quiet.

I watched the American flag wave back and forth in the wind and I thought, “If God is the wind, then let me be the flag, bending to His will, billowing in His grace.”

Be the flag.

I was amazed by this image that clearly came from God. He showed up when I left the world behind just for a few minutes. The dirty counters can wait to be wiped down. I can reply to emails later. Even the grocery shopping can wait. Building relationship with God takes precedence. I know He speaks in whispers so I must turn the volume of my life down. Be the flag.

3 thoughts on “Be the flag

  1. Anonymous says:

    Love the analogy- so much “noise” in all of our lives!

  2. Mar says:

    Like those thoughts..can just see you on the porch!

  3. Anonymous says:

    Kara, I love this! “Bend to HIs will…billowing in His grace”……I will ponder on your words today:). Every time I see a flag, I will think about what I read on your blog
    !

Leave a Reply

July 2014
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

