Poetry for Kids

Leave a comment

July 7, 2014 by Kara Nichols

I decided I should bring an original poem to the class I’m teaching on Wednesday, but I’ve never written a poem for kids. I only spent 15 minutes on this, it’s not spectacular or anything, but I hoping it will go over well. I’ll also have a picture of Bijoux to pass around while I read the poem. I doubt many of them have ever seen a Scottish Fold cat.

Bijoux

Bijoux the cat likes to sit in the sun
and loves to sleep all day

She was born with special ears
that fold and tuck away

She eats grass like a cow
and has a favorite seat

This kitty is so silly
that she eats scraps of meat

She says “meow” when she’s hungry
and tosses her tail when mad

Bijoux loves to play with children
especially if they are sad

If you feed her treats or comb her fur
she will rub against your arm 

then you will have a forever friend
to keep you safe from harm. 

photo-1

Leave a Reply

July 2014
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

