Whatever Shelf

Leave a comment

July 5, 2014 by Kara Nichols

I can be really antsy with decorating, changing things often. I finally gave myself permission to play and here’s what I came up with. A whatever shelf. Basically the point is that you can experiment and rearrange and dream without consequences. It can be updated to hold new decor or changed for a holiday. You can fulfill your every decor whim without patching holes.

Yesterday my whatever shelf looked like this:

photo-3

Black and white and one hot pink vase. I loved it, until I woke up this morning and wanted something different. Black and white decor isn’t my main focus of decorating, although you couldn’t tell that from this picture. I have grey & white furniture, grey walls and accent with white, mustard yellow and hot pink. But I also used to be really theme heavy with beach items and I missed some of that. So this morning in between loads of laundry I switched stuff out.

Here’s my whatever shelf as of 2:28pm:

photo-5

Even as I post this picture I see a million things I want to change. Like the window frame in the back – it’s nice because it adds some height but I am kind of tired of it. I might put my orchid up there to draw the eye upward. Yes I definitely want to retire the window frame. For today, at least. And while I love the sea shells and the whites, I just need more color up there besides the plant.

OK the orchid did NOT work. Here’s what I have now:

photo-6

Still a work in progress… again, looking at the picture I can see things I want to change. But it’s a labor of love. Get yourself a whatever shelf and bust out the knick knacks! It’s so fun.

Leave a Reply

July 2014
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

