Tree Hugger

1

June 27, 2014 by Kara Nichols

If there ever was a melancholy tree it’s the weeping cherry. Hence, the name. But come spring this tree is vibrant and rejoicing, filled with light pink blooms. I fell in love with the way the branches bow low, as if they want to return to the earth where it is safe. I’ve only ever seen these on the East Coast and they were magical to me. I would point and shout every time I drove by one. There’s a group of them that sit by my route to the grocery store and I sometimes nod in their direction. I had to have my own. Once home and planted, I ceremoniously named it, although I have long forgotten the name. If I’m sitting in my favorite writing chair and look to the right, I can see the tree perfectly.

This is what it looked like freshly planted. Kind of like a green land octopus. 

SprintPhoto_b223xr

 It’s first Spring wasn’t very exciting. A few random, harried buds with blooms that were anemic. That was two years ago. This past Spring it’s become a whole new tree. I am proud. Of a tree. Kind of weird. Maybe this is kind of how people feel who are obsessed with their gardens. And I might tackle gardening next year. But that’s a different post. 

Pictures don’t do it justice, but to give you an idea, this was from a few months ago when it was in bloom:

photo-1

It looked so much prettier than the year before, but still, it seemed to be a runt. Well, these days it’s just totally showing off. Giant, lush green leaves are shooting off of limbs all over the place. It’s not just surviving anymore, it’s thriving. Today I had to give the limbs a trim as they were brushing along the ground. It was kind of a bowl haircut minus having the bowl to help in make a straight line. 

photo-2

If I’m flipping out this much about a tree, can you imagine what will happen if I plant a garden and get to eat fresh fruit and veggies that I tended to? I’d probably need a whole different blog.

XOXO,

Kara

One thought on “Tree Hugger

  1. Bubba says:

    I’m impressed by your writing. Are you a professional or just very knboeldgeawle?

Leave a Reply

June 2014
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

