The Sassy Dietician

Leave a comment

May 27, 2014 by Kara Nichols

I recently listened to an episode of This American Life called The Seven Things You’re Not Supposed to Talk About. One thing on the list? Diet. I’m going to completely disregard what I learned from the show and and catch you up on the ins and outs of my dietary habits as of late. Try not to fall asleep.

Last you heard I quit Medifast in March. It was definitely the best thing for me to do. Unfortunately a vicious cycle began once I quit. I immediately found myself eating sugary, junky foods. The pattern became this: I would eat junk, notice weight gain, get depressed, and eat more. Repeat. For awhile there I just gave up, constantly quoting to myself the fact that “95% of people regain the weight they lose” so why not have that extra donut? I knew it was only a matter of time before I gained everything back. I had to do something, but what?

When I lost weight with Medifast I definitely liked buying smaller sizes in clothes but I noticed that inwardly I was still the same person with the same insecurities. How unfair is that? I thought that being thinner would solve everything, but it didn’t. Armed with this new knowledge I’ve been focusing my energy on having a healthy body, instead of a hot body. Looks fade. Longevity rules.

I had no idea where to start, so I went to my doctor. She is a heavy woman too. I asked to get a referral to a dietician, as I felt that I was in dire need of an expert opinion on living a healthy life. My doctor told me that my insurance probably wouldn’t cover it and also: “You know what to do Kara, you just don’t do it. It’s the same with me.” I should have told her “Obviously we don’t know what to do or how to do it because we’re still fat and so is most of America!”

But my prayers were answered when a mutual friend introduced to Laura, The Sassy Dietician. A few weeks ago I scheduled a nutritional assessment with her. Last week we “met” via FaceTime and talked for an hour and a half. We covered so much, from my medical history to my nutritional goals. Working with her has been the push in the right direction that I needed.

The first thing we agreed on is that Diet Cherry Dr. Pepper had to go. I fully admit to being addicted to it, and if for no other reason, that’s enough for me to want to quit. Thankfully I have a soda stream so I can have carbonated water anytime I want. Laura suggested I use fresh lime and lemon juice in my water. I was skeptical at first but now I’m a believer. It is very refreshing and I don’t have to feel guilty about drinking it. It’s been a week since I’ve had diet soda and I am not craving it as much. I’ll admit it was hard passing up a huge cup at the movie theater, but I did it.

Laura also suggested I read the book It Starts With Food. And oh my. It is rocking my world and I’m only half way through. I can’t even begin to break it down for you. I will just say that if you have the chance, read this book. It is revolutionizing my health and outlook on food. I believe it will prove to be invaluable on my journey to good health. Whole foods, baby! I’m going to bust out the kale chips on you!

Also before I forget: I learned something critical this week. Pan frying bacon is the inferior way to cook it. The best way? BAKE IT. You heard me. Ditch the frying pan and crank up your oven to 400 degrees. Lay your bacon on a cookie sheet covered with tin foil and bake for 15-20 minutes. You’re welcome.

ImageAlso if you are having dietary issues or want to lose weight or just educate yourself about nutrition I highly recommend you set up an appointment with The Sassy Dietician. From her website: Laura “The Sassy Dietitian” is located in Albany, New York. She is an unconventional Registered Dietitian focusing on real food in a fast food world! As an athlete and former sufferer of heart burn, allergies, and asthma, she not only preaches a whole food diet approach, she lives and breathes it and knows it can be individualized to work for everyone.

Leave a Reply

May 2014
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

