Healing is real

Leave a comment

March 30, 2014 by Kara Nichols

This weekend I went with a friend and my mom to a women’s conference called Women Abide with Isik Abla as the main speaker. She has an incredible story. Isik had a personal encounter with God on the day she was planning her suicide. That day, she received the supernatural healing and redemption of Jesus Christ. Later God would use her in mighty ways. In 2009, Isık began hosting a satellite TV program called Light for the Heart on the Kanal Hayat Turkish-language channel. After receiving tremendous response, two years later, Isık added a live call-in program that is simulcast on the Turkish and Farsi channels throughout the Middle East and Europe. These TV programs now deliver the message of love, healing, and freedom through Christ Jesus, reflecting on her own life experience. Check out her book I Dreamed Fredom for more about her testimony of escaping an abusive muslim home.

While her teaching was powerful, I think what struck me deeply during the weekend is when I was talking to a few friends. I don’t know how we got on this topic but Makalea said that freedom comes from sharing our testimony. And there were some amazing testimonies shared at this event. Makalea gave me the verse Revelation 12:11 to ponder, which says: They triumphed over him by the blood of the Lamb AND by the word of their testimony; they did not love their lives so much as to shrink from death.

I have heard this verse before but it struck me in a new way. I’ve been debating for a few months now whether or not to seriously consider writing my testimony in book form. Satan has come after me, saying that I couldn’t handle it emotionally to revisit all of the ugly past. But as I was listening to those Isik and others share their testimonies I was empowered and blown away by the power of God’s love for healing and transformation. It is with the blood of the lamb and sharing your story that freedom is found. And I want to share my story despite how overwhelming the project seems right now. Even if it turns out to be nothing more than a few blog entries, if it brings light and hope to someone else it would be worth it.

During an altar call I went up and asked for prayer in regards to my bipolar. I want to be healed. I believe God can heal me but my faith is smaller than a mustard seed right now. The kind woman who prayed over me asked the Lord for healing in my life and I could feel God’s presence all around us. I don’t know how this healing will walk itself out, but I do not have to be afraid because God is with me. After I prayed with her, another lady pulled me aside. I met her at the last conference in November. Her name is Pam and she works alongside Isik. She recognized me and asked how I was doing. Pam told me that I look stronger! Amen. I do feel stronger than the last time I saw her. She also recommended that I talk to my doctor about slowly going off of my medications. It’s a frightening and exciting idea. I will spend some time in prayer about this but I think I am ready for that next step. I am worried about my doctor’s reaction and the reaction of my family but ultimately it’s my decision. I will handle this as safely and responsibly as possible.

On the way home from the conference I was telling my mom and friend Diana that I don’t want to keep living my current lifestyle. I want a full-time job, my own place, money in savings, health insurance. If I don’t try to make a change I will never know what goodness God has in store for me. And I want to walk in faith, not stay in a sickly “safe” place.

I forgot to mention that at the conference there was a woman who was painting pictures throughout each worship time. It was really beautiful to watch her create. I wanted to buy one of her paintings but it was out of my price range. Watching her and also seeing the school halls lined with art really inspired me and I’m thinking about taking up painting. I used to paint in jr. high and high school. I was never very good but I thoroughly enjoyed doing it. So I am going to purchase some acrylic pant and see what happens.

I love going to the Women Abide conferences. I always leave equally exhausted and refreshed. God is so good to meet his daughters there. His love is so beautiful and healing is real.

Leave a Reply

March 2014
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

