Valid I.D.

Leave a comment

August 26, 2013 by Kara Nichols

When we choose to believe that God doesn’t have a plan for our lives, we are telling Him that He has made a grave mistake. That somehow, our current circumstances reflect poorly on Him instead of ourselves and this fallen world. The very idea that all things work together for good is impossible to believe at times. But I challenge you to trust in the Lord always. He will direct your path – always leading to Him in glory.

For so many years I believed that my identity was based in my profession. From a nanny to a writer, I held tightly to the titles. But I’m not sure that God is most concerned with what I do. Instead I think He focuses on who I am in Him. 

God has tenderly brought me through hardship into healing. My circumstances aren’t perfect but I’m not alone. This helps me let go of the unknowns and embrace God’s love that covers over me and my imperfections. For it is not I alone facing these questions, but He who is with me every step of the way. I have worth because I am a child of the King, not because I have the perfect job. It’s the same for you. The Bible says that man looks at the outer appearance (clothes, job, status) while God looks at the heart. I challenge you to remember three things that have to do with your identity.

Not because of your circumstances, but because of who you are in Christ:

1. You are always WELCOME in the Lord’s presence

2. You are WANTED by the God of the universe

3. You are WORTHY because you are a child of the King

I think of the parents today who are sending their kids back to school, some for the first time. I can only imagine that it might be difficult as one may feel like their personal identity warps to something new. No longer just the title of Mommy or Daddy, you may be wondering, “Who am I now?” Or perhaps you are out of work like me and despite your best efforts the future looks bleak and you feel helpless. I could tell you that it is going to get better, that you still have worth. But you can only find your true identity in Christ. He knows your circumstances, He wants to talk with you about it. He wants to help you! I encourage you to reach out to Him, even if it’s been awhile. He will make a way when there seems to be no way. I will be the one to love you unconditionally and tell you who you are – His bride. There’s not a title in the world that is more important. I challenge you to remember that as you face another Monday. I’m going to be challenging myself too. 

Image

Leave a Reply

August 2013
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

