Leave a comment

August 15, 2013 by Kara Nichols

I was reading through some old Live Journal posts and discovered that I weigh EXACTLY the same amount that I did EXACTLY one year ago today. That’s pretty ironic and very discouraging. Basically it means that I gained 30 pounds from August 2012 to December 2012. Now. There are reasons, ok, maybe excuses. I started Zyprexa, which causes when gain, I was dating Doug and we were going out to dinner at least 4 times a week, and I also wasn’t exercising. Plus, holiday goodies. Still, it seems incredible to me that I gained so much in such a short amount of time.

And it’s taken me 9 months to lose that 30 pounds. So easy coming on, so difficult to get off. 

I’m going to try and see this as a fresh start. I’m at the weight I was when I moved here 3 years ago and was in total turmoil. I didn’t have the strength or deep desire to lose weight, I was too depressed. But these days I’m emotionally, physically, and mentally stronger & healthier than I’ve been since 2008. That is cause for celebration.

What I don’t want to do is continue to gain and lose the same 30lbs. You talk about crazy. Hmph! I am looking forward to the weeks ahead when I most certainly will crush that number on the scale and saying good bye to a unhealthy weight that has been such a big part of my life.

I’ll be honest with you, the other day I was feeling discouraged. I had only lost 1/8th of a pound and was really hoping to see a bigger loss on the scale. I was tempted to quit because I miss fruit, milk, and pasta. But I spoke with my health coach and we went over about 18 things that can cause a slow down the weight loss. I matched up with some of them and I’m back on board. But it was a close call. I’m at the place where I usually give up on a diet. But thankfully, Gina didn’t let me. We worked it out and I felt so encouraged. Having her to consult with has made a big difference when I compare it to my times with Weight Watchers. She really is a major key to my success. Thank you, Gina!

Now I’m in the middle of week six, and like I said, I am back at the weight I was at one year ago. It’s going to be a big deal to me when I surpass that number. I can’t wait! 

Image

Leave a Reply

August 2013
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

