Leave a comment

August 6, 2013 by Kara Nichols

+ I lost 13.8 pounds in the 4 weeks with Take Shape For Life (Medifast). I thought that the restrictions would be hard, but I’ve found that I actually enjoy having limits as opposed to Weight Watchers, where I felt it easy to forgo the rules and cheat here and there or just guess instead of measure out food. Medifast is way more expensive since I’m buying their food, but I think my health is worth the investment. I eat 5 small Medifast meals a day plus 1 meal that I cook which consists of 1.5-2 cups of vegetables (not all types veggies though) and 5-7 ounces of lean protein. My current favorite dish is baked tofu with stir fry vegetables. So yummy! I’m taking this program month by month. I don’t want to project the amount I want to lose or say that I am married to Medifast, but for now it is really working for me. Many thanks to my Health Coach, Gina. If you’re ready to lose some weight, contact her on Facebook.

+ I’ve started to exercise regularly again. I was so burnt out on work out videos and the treadmill that I decided to try water aerobics at my local YMCA. I was hooked the first time and I plan to go 3-5 times a week. I was surprised at how sore I was, and I kind of thought that aqua classes were just for old women, from precious experiences. But there were actually quite a few of people my age in the session. Men too! It’s a great work out and I love being in the water.

+ At the beginning of July my whole family gathered to celebrate my dad’s 70th birthday. We spent the week at Smith Mountain Lake and had a blast. I got my dad a shirt that says “It took me 70 years to look this good” and a small scrap book I put together with 70 reasons why I love him. It was really easy to come up with 70 reasons. He’s rad. 🙂

Here’s the original Nichols five together in the condo:

Image

 

+ My new favorite tv show is the Pioneer Woman. It’s a cooking show, and none of the dishes are ones I can eat right now, being that I’m on Medifast, but there is something special about this lady! I love her blog too. She’s got a sweetness and light about her that is refreshing. She blogs, writes cookbooks, takes gorgeous pictures of her ranch, home schools her kids, and cooks cowboy friendly meals. In another life I wouldn’t mind filling her boots. Except for the mornings she wakes up before dawn. A morning person I am not.

+ I’ve been reading lots of books lately. One that stick’s out as a winner is The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. It’s whimsical, magical, and fairytale-like. I highly recommend it.

+ I have searched high and low for a decent toner. And I finally found it! Lush’s Eau Roma Water. What I love the very most is that you spray on the toner and let it soak in your skin.  It’s such

Leave a Reply

August 2013
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

