Let Her Eat Cake: Part 3

1

June 17, 2013 by Kara Nichols

I broke up with Weight Watchers a few weeks ago. It had been six long months with only a few pounds lost. I came to the realization that it wasn’t worth my time or money. But I do know people who have had success with WW and more power to them. I’ve done Weight Watchers half a dozen times in my life and every time I only lose about 15-20 pounds and then I just get sick of the lifestyle and move on to a new diet.

I’ve also stopped weighing myself every day. Weighing in daily usually led to a grey cloud over my head and the voice of Eeyore saying things like”whoa is me” and “I’ll never lose weight.” I was setting myself up for failure instead of success.

I’m learning how to eat less, with more joy. Portion size has always been an issue with me. I sometimes eat enough at one meal that could actually be spread out to be enough for three meals. It’s like my stomach is a bottomless pit. Half the time I don’t even realize I’m doing it so eating less takes a lot of mental energy. I’m trying to have a more intuitive approach, like actually eating when I’m hungry and stopping when I feel full. I know, I know, it’s so simple and basic — but for me — a stress/emotional eater, it’s something I really have to work at. But I am doing this type of eating as opposed to starting a new diet. I can’t bring myself to try another one!

Although people have told me to cut out gluten or trying juicing every day or watch carbs or don’t eat meat or avoid dairy. The list goes on, and on. And while I am open to making some changes for health reasons, I’m not going to completely alter my diet in the name of losing a few quick pounds. Because you know what happens? I lose a few quick pounds and then gain back MORE. It’s insanity.

A question popped in my head this afternoon: Would God love me more if I was thin? And I remembered 1 Samuel 16:7 which says, “The LORD does not look at the things people look at. People look at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.” Hallelujah! God isn’t watching my calories or noting what size of clothes I wear. He looks at my heart. I love that about my God.

Who cares what people think? Thankfully I’ve never dealt with much bullying when it comes to my weight. But I have quite a few people in my inner circle who deal with their own dieting issues and I can get drawn in. These days I’m just tuning out any talk of diets. It’s delightful.

While I feel like I’ve made some progress in the past few weeks with my eating, my attitude toward exercise is still crappy. I have plenty of ideas of how to exercise, I just haven’t been doing it. In the past I’ve gotten addicted to working out and I’d like to recreate that.

More important than how I look, is how my heart looks to God. I will never find perfection on this earth but I experience glorious redemption. My hope is that as I continue to shrug off old diet mentalities and put on the Lord I will continue to grow in Him. Diets and exercise plans took up way to much space in my head and heart. I want to reclaim that space for my Savior. Who does, in fact, love me at any size.

And I can just hear God say, “Let her eat cake!” 

Whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God. 1 Corinthians 10:31

So w

One thought on “Let Her Eat Cake: Part 3

  1. Shel says:

    Hi Kara!
    I just nominated you for a Super Sweet blogging award. If you want to participate, go here: http://feistybrunette.wordpress.com/2013/06/21/super-sweet-blogging-award/

Leave a Reply

June 2013
S M T W T F S
« May   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

