Thirsty

Leave a comment

May 9, 2013 by Kara Nichols

I have a confession to make. I’ve been going to Starbucks 3-4 times a week instead of 1-2. Here’s why. I now drink a Venti Iced Coffee w/ Vanilla w/ Non-Fat Milk instead of a Venti Iced Nonfat Vanilla Latte. The new drink is $2 cheaper (one of the baristas clued me in a few months ago) and I guess in my silly brain a cheaper drink has given me permission to go more often. But really I’m shelling out the same or more amount of money.

But get this: I LOATHE going into the two closest Starbucks. They are always packed with long lines and no parking spaces. I am not a fan of crowds, and Starbucks is the one exception I make. I have to give myself a pep talk just to get in the building. And now I’m going more often? WHY.

Well, the other thing that has me going, besides that I love coffee drinks, is that I’m building up my collection of virtual “stars”. Do you have the app? Basically I’m trying to beef up my numbers (I get one star per one purchase) so I can get more coupons and deals from Starbucks. I’ve fallen victim to their marketing scheme. I think I’m finally up to the point to where I get a gold card. Oh happy day! Then what? Oh, collecting more dang stars.

I can’t afford to spend nearly $48 a month on coffee, and this month, that’s what it’s headed toward. I just can’t do it. And I hate going into the stores. And I’m losing my fascination with the stars. So it only makes sense that I cut back. Far back. Like one visit every week or two. And though I hate the thought, I’m going to dust off my coffee maker and make my own iced vanilla coffees. Or maybe for the summer I’ll make myself iced tea. I love that too. Maybe for Christmas someone will buy me a Keurig. 😉

Besides spending money at Starbucks, I’ve also been buying a lot of bottled carbonated water. And I’m planning on making an investment with a SodaStream  purchase next month. I will be able to make my own carbonated water at home. I spend an average of $40 a month right now on Perrier water. I know! It’s a lot! Trust me I would be spending a lot more if money was no object, I’m in love with carbonated water. I’m also in love with how much better for the environment it will be to use the Soda Stream. I use approximately 60 bottles a month.The SodaStream comes with reusable bottles.

The only down side, if there is one, is that I will have to trade out the carbonator at a local store like Kohl’s or Bed, Bath & Beyond once a month or two (probably). I think they cost $15. Let’s say I had to do that once a month, I’d still be saving around $30 after my initial investment of $80. I guess I could try to drink less carbonated water, but I think it would be a slippery slope back to Diet Coke and I’m pretty adamant about not going there. Plus, I’m drinking WATER OBSESSIVELY which is a good thing. I’ve had much worse habits (see: Diet Coke & cigarettes)

So what’s in your glass the most these days? Soda? Coffee? Water? Beer?

Leave a Reply

May 2013
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

