Leave a comment

February 23, 2013 by Kara Nichols

Did you know msg and free glutamates are used to enhance flavour in about 80% of all processed foods?

Just one of the many facts I learned this week. I’ve been juicing 1-2 meals a day, have gone without meat or caffeine the last 6 days. I’ve lost a few pounds, but more importantly I’m feeling GREAT! Lots of energy and just happier in general. (This also may be a side effect of not watching any tv.)

What tipped off this new attitude toward food was seeing the movie Hungry for Change. Wow, let’s just say it’s one of those things you can’t “unsee” – it exposes shocking secrets the diet, weight loss and food industry don’t want you to know about; deceptive strategies designed to keep you coming back for more.

“There are so many hideously scary additives. Aspartame might be the scariest though. Its found in so many refined foods and causes formaldehyde build up in the brain, frontal lobe inflammation, causes migraines, symptoms that mimic multiple sclerosis, cognitive problems, cancers and more.”

And it goes on and on.

Two of the most important take aways were:

#1 Get hydrated with quality water

#2 Make a fresh green vegetable juice every single day

I’ve been drinking tap water for the almost three years I’ve lived in Lynchburg. So the first thing I did was order a Brita faucet filter. Then I threw away all of my sodas, sweet ‘n low packets and crystal light drink products. I started juicing and really enjoyed it. And then I read Fit for Life. And saw the movie Food Matters. I highly recommend both.

I’ve been doing some experimentation with food. Earlier this week I made up a pumpkin coconut chia seed pudding. Sounds gross but it was delicious! Here’s a recipe I just came up with – it’s very tasty. (Raw cacao is raw chocolate.) 

Cacao No Bake Bites1/2 cup raw cacao (super food)
1/2 cup old fashioned oats
2 tablespoons of PB2 (powdered peanut butter)
2 heaping tablespoons of raw local honey
Optional: 1/4 cup coconut flakes

Mix together, spread on cookie sheet, freeze for at least 30 minutes.

:::

I learned that it’s very important to drink a large amount of water when you first wake up. And in Fit for Life the author recommends drinking orange juice or fruit juice (fresh squeezed) in the morning up until noon and nothing else besides water. I’ve been doing that this week. I know I still have so much more to learn but I have to say I had one of the best weeks ever. I just concentrated on drinking juices, eating properly, getting exercise, taking detox baths and doing homemade facials. I squeezed some work in there too. 😉

I’ve dabbled in natural and healthy lifestyle in my past but never life this. I am HOOKED.

Image

Leave a Reply

February 2013
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
2425262728  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

