Meet me by the sea

Leave a comment

January 4, 2013 by Kara Nichols

In the past I’ve made up dreams about what my future would be like and I always envisioned myself being married in the scenario. But now I’ve come to the realization that I may be single for the rest of my life – and honestly I’m pretty cool with that. So for the first time, I’m making plans and daydreaming how *I* want my life to be. And my knee jerk response is always: live by the ocean.

I posted on Facebook earlier that I had the “move back to San Diego” bug. Unfortunately I cannot afford San Diego. So it’s turned into “Myrtle Beach, SC or Wilmington, NC!” bug.

Myrtle Beach is only 6 hours away from my parents so I can still keep an eye on them. It comes with an airport, Target, Costco, Trader Joe’s and the ocean. Sounds perfect. I’ve actually never been there, so I’ll have to make plans soon to check it out. But I’ve heard wonderful things about the area.

Another option is Wilmington, NC. It would knock off an hour of travel time back to Forest. Wilmington comes fully loaded with an airport, 3 Targets, a Whole Foods, Costco, Trader Joe’s, and the ocean within a 20 minute drive. I’ve also never been to Wilmington. Time for a road trip!

My tentative plan is to save up as much money as I can now until I turn 40 (in 7 years) in order to have enough for a down payment on a condo. Nothing fancy, I know I won’t get a beach view, or be super close to the beach, but I will be able to go to the beach as much as I want to. That’s the goal.

I do realize that something may come up – I might get married, I might not find an affordable place, I might die before it happens, I mean the possibilities are endless. But the point is that I am actually making an effort to own my life. Because when it comes down to it, it’s just me and God. (And my family too but who knows where they will end up)

I also know that I need to do a lot more research on both of these locations. But really I’m just so excited! Do you think it’s a little premature to start packing? Because I’m seriously considering it. 😉

Leave a Reply

January 2013
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

