As such a time as this

3

December 19, 2012 by Kara Nichols

A year ago today I committed to reading the entire Bible in 2012.  I’d never read through the whole thing before and it seemed like the right time to do so. As a Christian, I think it’s important to be familiar with all of Scripture. Anyhoo, I have managed to keep up with the daily readings throughout the months, although I admit to skimming a few times – all of those names! My favorite books were the Psalms, Esther, and Daniel. I plan to go back and study them further.

So what will I commit to in 2013? After much thought and some prayer (probably not enough prayer but I’m going for it – DRUM ROLL PLEASE) I am going to sequester myself to a Weight Watchers lifestyle. TA-DA!

The bad news is this is probably the 5th or 6th time I’ve done WW. Statistically speaking I usually putter out around month 2 or 3. I usually lose some weight but still end up discouraged and I quit before experiencing freedom from this extra weight I’m carrying around. In the past 9 months or so I’ve added on quite a few pounds, partly do to medications and partly just me making bad decisions.
I’m not sure how this is going to play out. I’ve got a bad track record, but all of those times I wasn’t fully committed to the program. I was committed to having results which weren’t coming fast enough for me. It’s harder for me than most people to lose weight because of my medications, but it’s not impossible. I actually signed up for Weight Watchers online last Friday, when I weighed myself and saw that I was just 10 pounds away from my TOTAL FREAK OUT NUMBER.  I also wasn’t pleased with a picture of myself from Thanksgiving – all of those chins!!

I can guarantee this journey will be ugly. But I am committing to make 2013 a Weight Watchers year for me. I will screw up at times, want to give up, but I won’t because I will remember that I wrote this post and that I promised myself and hundreds of my acquaintances that I would stick it out this time: give the plan a year to work instead of a few weeks.

There isn’t even a goal weight in my mind. I just want to learn how to make healthy choices and follow some rules with eating. I’m not a rules kind of girl, but I know I need it in this area. I don’t want to be thin, I want to take care of myself. I want to wear clothes that fit nicely, I want to be more active each day, I want to cook healthy food, I want to give this my best shot. Please feel free to cheer me on. Or just ignore me until December 19th, 2013 when I check in and review what the year of Weight Watchers has been like. I personally know a number of women, okay, maybe just 2, who have lost significant amounts of weight with WW and have found much success and happiness because of it. I’m ready to join the party.

3 thoughts on “As such a time as this

  1. Antoinette Davis says:

    Bring it on. I’ll stay with you. You didn’t have me here the other times.

  2. Kara… You are beautiful. You can do this. I am not a rules type of person either! A lot of fad diets you get quick results that don’t normally last so its a good thing in a way that you don’t get the immediate gratification you seek. I am encouraged seeing you be able to stick with goals you set even if its not all of the goals you set. Maybe you set too many expectations on yourself. When in fact your great the way you are. But you did accomplish something this year. You have accomplished a lot that some of us cannot say we have accomplished. So be proud of yourself! I personally never tried weight watchers but I am unsure I could do it even for a day. For me its not something I could constantly remember. But you have done it for weeks not just days but weeks. It may not be the months and years you desire but you will get there!

Leave a Reply

December 2012
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

