A Happy Chaotic Mess

Leave a comment

December 3, 2012 by Kara Nichols

As I spend this Monday fasting and reflecting on life I am amazed at what has happened in the last 30 days. I began dating a wonderful man and I experienced God in a new way. After suffering from a broken heart for many years I am experiencing love on new levels with my beau and Jesus. I am a blessed woman.

But I’m a happy chaotic mess of a blessed woman.

I haven’t exercised in awhile, I’ve been eating out a lot, spending more money than I should, seem to have writer’s block, etc.

I don’t know why I try to juggle everything in the hopes of meeting my own impossible standards. There always has been, and always will be, one or more area in life that are messed up and in need of attention. Only Jesus was able to live a perfect life. So why do I keep trying?

John 16:33 comes to mind: “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.

What a relief!

There will always be plenty of trouble, but Jesus has overcome those troubles for me. And you! We don’t have to be perfect. So I may not be a size 8, or be the best writer within a five mile radius, or have a balanced checkbook, but I can have peace of mind that Jesus loves me. I wonder if it offends him when I go on one of my perfectionist streaks. I doubt he is thrilled when I get obsessed with my weight or focus all of my attention on being a tight wad. He wants my attention. That’s what is really important in life: To stay focused on Jesus. Otherwise I focus too much on what this world considers to be perfection and I miss out the gifts that God wants to give and the things he wants to teach me. It reminds me of the story of Mary and Martha in the Bible. They were hosting Jesus at their house and had different responses to the pressure that was felt to perform.

Luke 10:38 -42

38 As Jesus and his disciples were on their way, he came to a village where a woman named Martha opened her home to him. 39 She had a sister called Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet listening to what he said. 40 But Martha was distracted by all the preparations that had to be made. She came to him and asked, “Lord, don’t you care that my sister has left me to do the work by myself? Tell her to help me!”

41 “Martha, Martha,” the Lord answered, “you are worried and upset about many things, 42 but few things are needed—or indeed only one.[a] Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.”

https://i0.wp.com/www.womeninthebible.net/images/Martha_and_Mary_by_He_Qi_China.jpgOh man, I am such a Martha sometimes. And I felt like that today – completely overwhelmed by everything that needs to be done or should be done or that I should at least feel guilty for not doing. I was about to start making a long to do list when I remembered that the whole reason I set aside Mondays to fast was so I could spend time in the presence of the Lord and get some writing done.

I’m not saying I will shirk my responsibilities. I can and will implement wiser choices now that I’ve recognized how out of sync I’ve been. But I completely refuse to freak out and try to be perfect at everything all at once. Through my weakness He is made strong, 2 Corinthians 12:9.

 

 

Leave a Reply

December 2012
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

