I’m no theologian

Leave a comment

November 24, 2012 by Kara Nichols

Last night I found myself thinking,”Oh this is such a little sin, besides, Jesus will forgive me anyway.” Wow. Ever caught yourself thinking something similar?

Some people believe that there are there different degrees of sin. From what I understand there is no specific verse in the Bible that says all sins are equal (correct me if I’m wrong). But certainly the consequences are not the same, and maybe that’s what really matters. If I kill a man I will go to jail and maybe even lose my own life. If I overeat, I get fat. If I have sex I could get pregnant. If I lie, I could lose a friendship. Most of the time it’s a pretty easy equation.

It made me sick to my stomach that I was marching right into a sinful activity fully aware of what I was doing and taking advantage of Jesus’ forgiving spirit. That’s pretty low. And I guess I could comfort myself by saying that everyone sins, no one is perfect except Jesus. But the reality is that I knew better and I did it anyway. I don’t like having that kind of defiant spirit. I pray that the Lord will cleanse me of that way of thinking. I know I can’t be perfect, but I also know when I am making bad choices. It’s more clear now than ever before, after the women’s conference a few weeks ago. I experienced God’s love in a new and dramatic and extravagant way. My heart is sensitive to sin because the Holy Spirit is heavy and alive in me.

John 3:16 is the first Bible verse I memorized as a child, “For God so loved the world that He gave His own begotten Son that who should believe on Him should not perish but have everlasting life.” I am so thankful for that new life I have received and even though I screw up I know that God loves me. He loves me unconditionally: a concept which is hard to wrap my head around but I believe.

Isaiah 64:6 says that we are all infected and impure with sin. When we display our righteous deeds, they are nothing but filthy rags. Like autumn leaves, we wither and fall, and our sins sweep us away like the wind.
So what are my consequences for my “little sin”? I know I feel guilty and convicted. I know I need to ask for God’s forgiveness and the forgiveness of the other person involved. I guess I just choose to learn my lesson and move on. Press toward Jesus. Believing that His grace is real and His love is true. 1 Peter 4:8: “Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins.”
I’m so glad love covers a multitude of sins. And like my friend Sarah told me: The gossip needs redemption as much as the thief.
Leave a Reply

November 2012
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

