Glorify

Leave a comment

November 17, 2012 by Kara Nichols

Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body. (1 Corinthians 6:19-20).

On March 14, 2011 I woke up in a way I never had before: a specific phrase was on my mind and it clearly didn’t come from me. That phrase was:

He dreamed of me in glory on the day He died for my sins.

Cool, right? Ever since then I’ve been doing a study on the word glory, trying to figure out what my dream could mean and why God pressed this message on my heart.  It turns out that glory is one of the most used words in Scriptures, so this project could take awhile. But for starters, I know that my only hope of glory is through Christ. (Colossians 1:27) And rather than seeing my body in the light of the world’s absurd standards, I’m learning to see it as a gift meant to give God glory and to serve others.

1 Corinthians 10:31-33
So eat your meals heartily, not worrying about what others say about you—you’re eating to God’s glory, after all, not to please them. As a matter of fact, do everything that way, heartily and freely to God’s glory. At the same time, don’t be callous in your exercise of freedom, thoughtlessly stepping on the toes of those who aren’t as free as you are. I try my best to be considerate of everyone’s feelings in all these matters; I hope you will be, too.

It’s hard to imagine eating to God’s glory with a corn dog. But it happens. It happens when I least expect it: As a person who has struggled with my weight my entire life, this passage hits a soft spot. The idea of bringing God glory while eating is refreshing and rings true to my soul. God doesn’t care about my looks, He cares about what’s inside. 1 Samuel 16:7 says, “For the Lord sees not as man sees: man looks on the outward appearance, but the Lord looks on the heart.”

I love this passage from the book Thin Within: “The dwelling places He chose for His glory were extravagant in every detail. Likewise our bodies are very special to God because he is the master architect, the landlord, and He has chosen to join us in tenancy. God doesn’t dwell in the mediocre. He chooses only the most splendid structures in which to live. God created us for His glory. He wants our lives to reflect His joy, love, grace, and compassion so that people will recognize Him in our countenance. The Bible calls this “glorifying God.” You might say that we become advertisements for how wonderful God is when our lives display His majesty and wonder to the world.”

Most of the time I am a horrible advertisement of God’s glory. But He can take something I find utterly hopeless and use it for His glory. And that dream I had! He dreamed of me in glory on the day He died for my sins. How much I am loved! That Jesus would dream of me in glory with Him on the day He died for my sins. Incredible. And I’m not the only one Jesus dreamed of – you were on His mind as well.

Grace is but glory begun, and glory is but grace perfected.
Jonathan Edwards

Leave a Reply

November 2012
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

