Leave a comment

November 11, 2012 by Kara Nichols

Remember the episode of Seinfeld where George makes up a fake charity – “The Human Fund” – in order to skip having to buy his co-workers gifts at Christmas? Well, I’m feeling a little bit like George this year. I don’t want to buy gifts. On top of that, I don’t want to receive anything either. I have everything I need, and my family is well-cared for too. Here’s the letter I wrote to them, trying to explain this crazy new thought:

Dear fam:

In lieu of Christmas gifts this year I would like to invite you to donate money in my name to the charity of your choice. Please let me know on Christmas Day which charity you chose to give to and why.

I’ve made a family unit decision (although my family is just me and a cat – it still counts!) that I won’t be doing presents this year, except maybe a few little things for the kids. I decided that instead of spending $10 each on a gift you may or may not like, or like last year when I gave you gift certificates for the families, I would do something more meaningful to me and I think it will be more meaningful for you – to give to someone who could really use the money. Kind of like that one year I was totally broke and bought  2 chickens for someone in Africa in your name . 😉 I’ll save it as a surprise on Christmas as to which charity I’m making my donation to – something needs to be a surprise! I’ll be giving $120 which is what I would have spent on gifts this year. If it’s easier for you to just give me money and I can put your portion toward my charity of choice. I hope you will embrace the idea. I mean, all of us have everything we *need* so this is a cool way to give to the community as we celebrate the birth of our Savior.

I challenge you today to remember the poor and those who are down and out during this holiday season, including those who’ve just had their lives destroyed because of hurricane Sandy. Ask God to put a particular person or ministry on your heart and then move forward in your relationship with God by caring for his beloved people. It doesn’t have to be monetary, either. Give of your time and talents. A little goes a long way and God will most assuredly bless your acts of kindness. He is faithful that way. “He upholds the cause of the oppressed and gives food to the hungry. The LORD sets prisoners free” Psalm 146:7

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

November 2012
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

