Prepping for parades

Leave a comment

November 5, 2012 by Kara Nichols

I’ve been in two parades. Actually three.

The first was in grade school. My friend Christina’s parents owned a bakery and they entered a cherry pie float into the local Christmas parade. I walked beside the float as a rosy little elf.

My second chance was in high school. I was a flag girl of all things. Yes, it was before I decided to be cool and play the guitar. I could twirl a flag like nobody’s business. I can’t say I liked marching in that parade. It was a longer route and my attention span and my aching feet were ready to be home in pjs.

And then there’s this third parade that I just now realized I’m part of and I’ve been trying to direct it as well as star in it.

Romans 3:28 “God does not respond to what we do; we respond to what God does. We’ve finally figured it out. Our lives get in step with God and all others by letting him set the pace, not by proudly or anxiously trying to run the parade.”

Of course I’m sure I’ve heard this concept before but not quite in this fashion. And while I grew up in a religious home, the words of the Bible never jumped out with such style and grace as they do now.

So there you have it. God’s parade. I guess part of the reason I’ve been so grabby with the controls is that I feel as though I don’t have a part. Or, worse, I think my part stinks.

My sister often tells me that while we stand on the sidewalk and watch the parade of life go by, God looks from above and can see the begin, middle, and ending all at the same time.

So how do I go about getting back in step with God’s pace on the parade route? I don’t want to be the girl who steps in horse poop because I wasn’t paying attention to the director. I don’t want to be the one who gets distracted (I’m so easily distracted…ohhhh butterflies!) wait. What? Oh yeah. Distracted! And then I let go of Garfield and he floats to New Jersey!

Even worse than sending Garfield to Jersey would be being on the sidelines of God’s parade when I could star in it. I believe He has specific and unique gifts and talents for each and every person on this earth. I don’t want to screw it up. Well, I know God wouldn’t let the likes of me screw up his parade, but that’s a whole different post.

God, I have a lot of questions about my role in this life. I hope it has to do with glitter and unicorns. What I know for sure is that I long to be in your parade, showing you off. Sharing your glory. Telling your story. I love you so much and pray that you open my eyes to the desire of YOUR heart so that I may bring much pleasure and honor to you as one of your children marching in your parade from this moment and into eternity.

Leave a Reply

November 2012
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

